Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should provide better education and job training instead of putting a criminal in prison. Personally, this is a one-sided point of view. Therefore, I totally disagree with this statement and my own reasons will be outlined in the following essay. Firstly, there are a large number of reasons why it is unreasonable to think imprisonment to be ineffective. The prison has existed as one of the embodiments of justice and fairness in society for hundreds of years. If the people have unlawful behaviour which is a misdemeanour or a felony, they should be sentenced or the community will fall into chaos. The prison not only keeps the criminals far away from the innocent people but also is a reminder of the consequences of breaking the law. Protecting human rights plays a vital role in the peaceful world. As a result, the more stable the society is, the better living standard becomes. In theory, providing better education and employment skills is a way to enhance people ’s awareness and reduce unemployment rate. It is true, however, this way can not completely eliminate all the elements that let a person turn to a criminal. In fact, many developed countries which provide good education and job skills have high crime rate. More specifically, there are many heinous crimes posed by the well-educated. We can not deny the fact that some people who are immoral by nature and psychologically unstable show the obvious propensity for crime. Hence, it is naive to believe that education and job skills force people to follow the law more effectively than imprisonment does. All in all, better education and employment training are not the ultimate answer to crime, they can not replace prison sentences to punish the criminals. It should be considered that the combination of both methods can truly make good progress in decreasing crime rate and keeping the world safe.