The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Before 1888, no Britishers would have ever thought of driving on road in a personal space. But with the passage of time after show up of the first car on road in 1888, very quickly in two centuries, this number increased to 29 million. Now people think that alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and there should be an introduction of laws to control car ownership and its use. I agree with this statement that there should be control on this otherwise it will have an adverse effect on our environment. Firstly, this increasing number of cars has a negative impact on our environment. As on road if there are millions of cars they efficiently contribute to noise pollution, air pollution. Moreover, burning up of fuel leads to global warming as a number of gases are outbursted in the air. This can be surely curtailed by the use of alternative forms of transport. For example, if people start travelling by public transport like bus, then in such case a bus can be a substitute of approximately 52 cars as bus usually have 60 seats. it has been proven that cities with neat networks of bus lines, trams, and underground metros have fewer cars on roads than other cities with poorly designed or managed public transportation. Secondly, there is a need to make laws related to controlling car ownership and its use because if there will be penal law for the overuse of cars then people will avoid driving their cars uselessly. For instance, the government can make laws regarding the use of old cars. As In India government has banned driving car which is older than 15 years because they emit toxic substances. Furthermore, there can be a rule of odd and even cars that on one day only even number cars will be permitted to drive. Though, cars provide us with personal and comfortable space but still, we can not act selfishly because this is exploiting our environment and our biodiversity. So, there is a need to take some measures by which we can compete in this modern era by preserving our nature. To sum up, I wish to reiterate that cars cause major environmental damage and other means of travel should be promoted to reduce the impact of car pollution. Therefore, car utilization and ownership need to be more tightly regulated through the implementation of stricter global legislation.