The society is based on rules and laws. The society would not function well if individuals were free to do whatever they want. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Laws refer to the rules imposed on human beings. I do think that law played a significant role in regulating our behaviours though it can also sometimes restrict our freedom. Undoubtedly, laws inevitably restrain people ’s freedom and thereby hinder social progress to some degree. For instance, if one country has many restrictions on the business world, the business activity will not thrive. High-income earners who are subject to high-income tax rates may lack the motivation to make greater efforts to increase their income. The government can relax regulations to unlock the potential of these people, which can contribute to social progress. However, if no law regulated people ’s behaviours, a country would be in chaos and the economy would collapse. To give an example, if people do not obey traffic regulations, traffic accidents will increase and traffic congestion will become a problem. The revenue of numerous businesses will be affected because their products cannot be delivered efficiently. Similarly, in a country where there are no laws to punish those merchants who sell fake products online, consumers will stop shopping on the Internet and this country will suffer economically. In addition, moral principles are also important; otherwise, people will not be able to develop a respectful and trusting relationship. They are sometimes motivated by self-interest to do something that would be harmful to others, such as betraying the trust of their business partners, but this would cause damage to their relationship. If people do not fulfil their promises, they will find it difficult to conduct business together, and arguments will reduce productivity. It is fair to say that no society could function well when people lack mutual trust. To summarize, it is reasonable to regulate people ’s behaviour by a wide range of laws and rules even though something many people are willing to do or try will be restrained or even forbidden.