Every year several languages die out. Some think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion .

Numerous languages die out each year. Some people believe that this does not have any importance because if there were fewer languages life would be easier. I agree with it because having fewer languages facilitates connections between people from different countries and make knowledge more accessible to people, and this essay is going to analyse and give reasoning to this view. Connections between different nations, which are crucial for trading in a global market, are easier with fewer languages because people can understand each other better, moreover, transactions are faster and with fewer mistakes. For example, people prefer buying a product from someone who speaks the same language because they feel more confident that the seller understands clearly their request, this is to say, the fewer are the barriers, the higher are the links and trade opportunities. Secondly, knowledge, which is crucial for the development of poorer countries, is more accessible to a larger number of people, because of the ability to understand information without the need to have it translated, therefore more opportunities for different people. For instance, nowadays most of the knowledge shared online is in English or French, which means that people who speak those languages have better chances to learn new things, and, in other words, to improve their conditions.  To conclude, although some people think that it is important to preserve all the different languages, I do not agree with this because life would be much easier for many people due to more and better connections, and more people would be able to learn from a larger number of sources.