In many countries today people are choosing to have fewer children. Why is this the case? What are the effects of this trend in society?

Globally, the number of individuals choosing to have fewer children is on the rise. There are various reasons for this, but overall, more children mean more stress for families. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons and consider possible consequences of this trend. Opting for a smaller family has many benefits. Firstly, children are expensive and overall living costs are on the rise, which puts a strain on the parents. For instance, a weekly grocery shop for a family of six will easily amount to around $500, whereas that of a family of 4 will be half of that. Secondly, it takes much time and energy to raise children. In the past, the extended family was part of raising children, whereas today, many couples are doing numerous tasks alone, which often leads to burnout. Of course, the downward trend has effects on society. While consequences may not be imminently noticeable, in years to come a drop in the population numbers will be felt. Because life expectancy keeps rising, there will be an increase of old people, but fewer young people to look after them. Furthermore, society will require the same amount of jobs done but will have fewer people to do them. In conclusion, it is plain to see that children are hard work and are cause for extra costs. Many people for these reasons prefer to have fewer kids. However, we must not forget that children are a type of insurance for our future and we must therefore keep investing in them.