Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days supermarkets are the very first choice of any shopper. It is an accepted fact that due to rapid expansion of the supermarkets in some countries, many local outlets are losing business. Some people believe that this is very harmful for the local communities because it leads to the closure of many local businesses. I completely disagree with the argument that the supermarkets are dangerous for local businesses and local communities. Many believe that local businesses are not able to compete with the supermarkets. Firstly, supermarkets offer low prices because they buy in bulk and get good discount from the suppliers. On the contrary, a local shopper buying from the same supplier has to pay a higher price and hence they cannot sell their goods at cheap rates. Secondly, supermarkets offer a wide range of products under one roof. That is why customers prefer to visit them instead of the local shops that sell only a limited choice of products. On the other hand, I believe that the expansion of the supermarkets is advantageous for the local communities. First and foremost, it reduces the monopoly of local businesses. Now all local people have good opportunity to buy at low and competitive price. Also, the local vendors have the opportunity to optimize their processes. For instance, in China, local Chinese businesses have been successful competing against Wal-Mart, which is the biggest supermarket chain in the world. Secondly, by adopting new technology and new way of doing business, local businesses can easily win over big chain of supermarkets. To sum up, it is true that many local businesses are not able to compete with the Supermarkets. Nevertheless, it is not impossible. On the other hand, the Supermarkets are helping local communities by offering products at low prices and at the same time they are challenging local businesses to improve their processes. Therefore, I am of the opinion that instead of closing down local businesses must learn from the supermarkets and put in effort to innovate their processes. In the end, the competition between supermarkets and local stores will only benefit the local community.