The increase in People’s life expectancy means that they have to work older to pay for their retirement. One alternative is that people start to work at a young age. Is this alternative a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, the life expectancy of humans has increased which has led the older generation to spend more of their time working. However, there are other alternatives like encouraging youngsters to start working early in their life; from my perspective, it is a positive trend and can benefit both young pupils and the society as well. On the one hand, the engagement of older people at work has several disadvantages. Firstly, they are physically unfit for many organizations. To elaborate, the working conditions of the workplaces these days are very demanding, and it may not be suitable for people with adverse medical conditions. Secondly, the intellectual ability of individuals degrades with age which makes them inefficient for working. Moreover, these circumstances also reduce the chances of promotion for younger employees. Thus, companies also face the loss of exploiting young minds. However, there are a plethora of benefits of working at a young age. Primarily, youngsters are highly passionate and creative; consequently, they are a better workforce for any organization. Furthermore, because of their physical capabilities they are more flexible towards work, and they can also work harder when compared with older people. In addition, it also gives an opportunity to start earning early in their life. Bill Gates, for instance, quitted the university to start his own startup, and became the richest man in the world. To conclude, in my opinion, influencing youngsters to start working early is a great alternative, and more importantly, it reduces the load from the shoulders of old pupils.