In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, the trend of working or travelling for a year before joining university education is becoming highly popular. Although this behaviour can boost the professional life of undergraduates, it has some drawbacks also. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. Working or travelling after high school enables undergraduates to get more knowledge to pursue their race and enables them to choose their correct path according to their passion. They can experience different cultures, traditions and market trends which enables them to pursue their career in more depth. They can learn how to tackle different challenges after they eventually start their professional race. For example, Steve Jobs found his passion after taking a break from his course and later founded Apple Inc. Furthermore, pupils can attain maturity which turns them to be better professionals and people in their lives. When they start to attend the office at such an early age, they can learn time management, working under a team and dressing skills. On the flip side, taking a year off from class actually breaks the rhythms of course. Many junior when they start working they do not find themselves comfortable while they return to university and they pay less importance to their studies, at, last they quit their academic life and couldn’t grow a great professional race without higher education. For Instance, My friend started working in an Audit firm after passing just two papers of ACCA, even though he got experience but he was not able to complete his full course after 10 years of enrollment and ultimately he was dropped from the ACCA register. In addition, pupils at a young age do not have experience dealing with their finances. When they go travelling, they run out of finances and come back home without getting a better understanding of the cultures. To conclude, taking a year break from studies is good for finding one’s passions but it has lots of challenges. I believe students should know the pros and cons before taking a break from their studies.