In many cities, planners tend to arrange shops, schools, offices and homes in specific areas and separate them from each other. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Different function areas, such as educational institutes and housing areas, are designed in separate locations in some cities. I think that this way of planning results in more benefits than problems. Regarding the benefits, firstly, this will be beneficial to people ’s social life. Such planning set different functional buildings in different places where we have to go every day. For example, we need to go different places to buy clothes, have a drink with friends or learn academic knowledge under this kind of planning, which encourages people to go to other blocks or streets, giving them more opportunities to meet with others. Therefore, it will enhance our social skills like making friends with others. Secondly, it is reasonable because some functions designed together will lead to negative impacts. For instance, if the school is close to the offices, a large number of students and consumers will deteriorate the traffic conditions in the afternoon, causing traffic congestion. However, there is also a minor drawback. For some disabled people, if they live in cities designed by this pattern, it is inconvenient for them to go to different spaces for different purposes because of their physical defects. Nevertheless, these problems have not resulted in significant impacts since lots of roads, and seats on buses and underground are designed for these disabled people, which could alleviate their difficulties in travelling. Even though they may face dangers on the way, other people could help them in the current civilized society. In conclusion, separately setting buildings with different functions is reasonable, and it contributes to people ’s social lives. While the drawback does exist, but it can be minimized.