In some places, young people find it difficult to communicate with older people. Why is this? What are the solutions?

The debate regarding the way young people communicate with the old generation has been going since few years. Younger society nowadays is finding it difficult to liaize with elders. This essay will elucidate the main reasons behind this behavioural pattern along with solutions to tackle this situation. To commence with, there are a plethora of reasons that contribute to the obstacles of communication. Firstly, differences in opinion and ideas between these two age groups. Young ones are more prone to modernisation and urbanisation. Moreover, their way of thinking is completely different from senior citizens. In addition, youth always inculcate modern trends of society which cannot be accepted by old communities. For example, today's teenagers are addicted to torn jeans, a fashion that elders never appreciate. Secondly, as age increases, there is considerable change in organs, such as the auditory system decreases and it may cause hearing problems. In other words, elders with hearing problems will have trouble comprehending conversations. As a result of this trouble, young have to boost their volume or sometimes repeat themselves. Eventually, a high tone might deprive the quality of conversation. However, there are strategies to eradicate these above-mentioned problems or at least shorten the generation gap. The best solution is by encouraging intergeneration living where students live with aged people. These are already practised at some places. To illustrate, in exchange for cheap accommodations they can provide companionship for the elderly. These manners have successfully facilitated the communications of the old. To conclude, the generation gap is one of the major problems faced by young and old people in today's society. The main cause of this is mainly differential opinion and also physical problems. However, this can be overcome by living together and interacting with one another.