Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Travelling to work is what people do on a daily basis. Some individuals believe that residential areas should be built in the city centre to replace green areas. However, although this replacement can reduce the commute time, I would argue that it is not beneficial to commuters as those green areas are good places for workers to relax. On one hand, people support replace parks and gardens with apartment buildings in the city centre because it can help people cut down the time for travelling to work. A number of people are suffering from long-distance commutes every day. They have to get up early to catch a train or a bus. As a result, they may feel exhausted when they get to work after a long- time travelling. Therefore, if the apartment building is close to their workplace, they will not need to get up early and have more time to make themselves ready for work. On the other hand, I would argue this replacement is not beneficial to workers because there will be no places for them to relax if parks and gardens are replaced. For example, individuals who are stressed would like to go for a walk and get some fresh air during lunch break. They may not be able to find a good place to go since there is no parks or gardens nearby. If they are not able to relax during lunch break, they are likely to have no energy for the afternoon and their productivity will be low. In this case, their work performances can be affected. In conclusion, although concentrating residential areas in the city centre can help reduce commute time, I would argue that this action is not beneficial to workers because they would not be able to find a good place to relax during break time.