In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

Several highly qualified graduates are unemployed in several nations. This has been caused by the significant change the labour market has experienced during the last decade while institutions continued their teaching in the same way. Therefore radical reforms are needed to solve this critical issue. Firstly, in the last ten years, we have assisted to the total mutation of how work is required, which is the leading cause of many highly qualified people being without work in many countries. In the past, people were offered contracts with benefits, including a secure job for the rest of their careers. At the same time, now businesses prefer short-term contracts where workers are tied up to the company only during the period agreed to complete the task they were contracted. This has forced a new and more dynamic way to build a career. For example, studies show that there are jobs available, particularly for highly skilled professionals. However, companies hire the best qualified professional for a specific project and then move to the next. In other words, people constantly have to look for clients and remain up to date in their specialization. Secondly, although this is now a severe issue for many people, no much has been done to solve the problem. Nevertheless, what should be done is very straightforward. Universities must change their old teaching and start preparing students for the real world. For instance, including courses that develop crucial abilities from creating a clients base to upselling and pr skills can make a difference in their students' future, maybe a good starting point.   In conclusion, in my opinion, highly qualified graduates being unemployed in many countries is a problem caused by a change mainly dictated by businesses but not reflected in the way students learn. Significant changes are needed to solve this, and universities should get up to date and in line with the real world.