Some people believe that time spent on television and computer games can be valuable for children. Others believe this has negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to children being too much time on television and video games is good for them or this implies on not good influence for them. In this essay, I am going to examine this question and explain why I believe the argument of their negative effect on them is stronger. There are people who argue that spending time on electronics like computer games considerably outweighs its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that the television stimulates their imagination and creativity solving computer games. It is also possible to say that these little daily challenges improve their intelligence as they progress inside the game. One good example here is the increasing difficult in each phase of the Super Mario game. On the other hand, others believe that television and computer activities are passive actions for children. People often have this opinion because since the first months of life up to 10 years old, the children does need to practice physical activities like run, walk, touch new objects. A second point is that their development depends on direct interactions with people and other infants. Their interactions of touching, tasting, smelling, hearing, visioning will have a significant impact on their development while screens will mainly interact with visioning. A particularly good example here is when is compared a child who frequents kindergarten versus a child who does not. The first one usually has more abilities as they interact with others at school. In conclusion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that spent time on screens like TV and video games is not a valuable time. This is because the interactions with other human beings have more impact to their early development.