Some people think that teaching methodology in the modern classroom should be based on experiential learning while others believe that traditional approach is still the best. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

Some people believe that Learner-Centred teaching is better than the conventional methods of teaching for contemporary classrooms. I am quite inclined to the opinion and believe that experiential learning is the need of the hour. To begin with, students often face dilemmas while deciding the suitable subject which can ensure a sustainable career for them. A modern practical way of teaching may ease this struggle for children like by experiencing the practical side of a subject, they can make sound career decisions. In addition, the experiential learning method is more effective in nature as it will help them in enhancing their knowledge and skills. For instance, these types of methodologies help students in knowing their strengths and weaknesses for various subjects and also helps teachers in evaluating students performance effectively. On the other hand, the Learner’s centred approach overcomes this situation. In my opinion, it is the future of learning as well as a teaching methodology. Firstly, it accelerates learning and ‘learning by doing’ methods has replaced repetition. This process is based on critical thinking, problem-solving and decision making. It also bridges the gap between theory and practice as the student gets a first -hand experience which helps in retaining the concepts. To conclude, following the traditional approach will surely have an adverse effect on students post-school life. Hence, school management must introduce a practical approach for studies as this will help students in improving their mental and learning skills and also ensures a healthy lifestyle.