Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The popularity of volunteer work in community has been increased in recent years. Is it true that by doing an unpaid work, both teenagers and community will get a number of benefits? Many people claim that adolescents should use their leisure time to help their surrounding neighbourhoods. I completely agree that by offering a helping hand in the communities nearby, a multitude of positive impacts will be obtained as the following reasons. To begin with, youth have an opportunity to improve their personal development while volunteering in the local communities. In other words, this kind of social activities might stimulate their empathy and responsibility to others. For instance, when a group of secondary school students joining volunteer program in retirement house during their summer break, they will be encouraged to have a deeper understanding in assisting the elderly. In the same time, they can also imagine if they are getting older, they need several aids from other people. As a result, their level of empathy and responsibility may grow considerably. Another benefit to be gained is a volunteer work will support local neighbourhood environment program. For example, local youth community in various island tourism destinations in Indonesia are considered to hold “Beach Clean Project” in every Earth Day celebration. This initiative is conducted to aid locals in protecting the tourist spots environment. By receiving some helps from the youth, local communities can be benefits in conserving their destinations and keep their beach clean. In conclusion, a myriad of positive impacts is generated by such a volunteer project done by teens. Therefore, I agree that by providing unpaid assistances in the communities, both teenagers and local people will be got the benefits.