Q. Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television has been the major source of time-pass activities for many people for decades. In addition, television has been accused of making viewers lazy and less productive and ultimately affecting social life. This essay will discuss in detail whether this accusation is valid or not and give my personal opinion. Firstly, it is no doubt that watching television is the single most time-consuming activity that we are indulged in. Despite this, television does have a plethora of pros as there are many TV channels that are immensely informative and can help us develop vital skills. For example, channels like National Geographic and TLC broadcast many intriguing series consisting of history and travel. Hence, solely blaming the TV for someone to binge-watching something instead of productive channels, isn't really fair as viewers should use their discretion to watch the things which are more influential. Secondly, I personally believe that TV should not be looked at as just a tool to make people lazy, it instead should be seen as something which brightens people's day with funny videos, when someone is feeling low, it can help rejuvenate. Similarly, at times many of us just want to get away from society, then TV is the thing that helps us diverge our thoughts to something else. Lastly, managing our social life is our own responsibility and we as human beings should know better.  To sum up, it is totally disproportionate to accuse television of making people lazy instead we should embrace the true purpose of why the TV was invented. Furthermore, we should be able to balance our social life rather than blaming a tangible object like TV. Hence, I totally disagree with the above-mentioned notion.