Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, sporting gatherings have become popular all over the world. This has made several mega-companies to advertise their products at such events. Although, some individuals believe this to be harmful to sports, I partly agree with this, as it can be both beneficial and disadvantageous to sports. On one hand, people are of the opinion that advertisement made by large companies during sporting events reduces the thrill of such games. Breaks which are supposed to be short are elongated to promote various brands. Consequently, increasing the waiting time for spectators. For example, motorsports had 4 breaks of 10minutes duration each. However, with the introduction of Pepsi and Coca cola brands into the mix, the breaks have been increased to 20 minutes each. This has frustrated the spectators leading to people boycotting such events and leaving earlier than they planned. On the other hand, such mega-companies have created wealth for the stakeholders in such events. This in turn helps to increase the salaries of athletes who participate in these events. For instance, football has been said to be the richest sport in the world. this is because, every club are backed by a rich enterprise who advertise their products on the jerseys of every player in a team. The more large companies advertise in sports, the wealthier the athletes become. In conclusion, although people are of the opinion that advertisement made by large companies in sporting ceremonies are hurtful to the game as it reduces the thrill of watching the events, I am of the opinion that, it also can be positive to the game by creating wealth for those who participate in such events. It should therefore not be removed but regulated.