Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Since the advent of schools, one of the most crucial parts of an academic plan is study. Although some people suggest removing it as it brings extra stress and tiredness for students, I believe that homework is beneficial and ought to be compulsory for all learners as they provide an opportunity to work on mistakes and do revision. To start with, students spend most of their diurnal time at schools during the academic year, about 6-8 hours which comprise 5-8 lessons. As a result, students usually do homework in the late afternoons or the evenings. This is not a secret that some pupil from high grades may study until late at night due to an enormous amount of practice; additionally, generally, students are less productive, and they might struggle with focusing at that time as they become exhausted after the long day. Consequently, as the efficiency declines, the number of omission rises, which lead to lower grades which cause extra stress. On the other hand, the main purpose of homework is to correct your mistakes and revise the knowledge gained from the lessons. It is less likely that the person will remember the new material without extra practising that was outlined in the research of the University of East Anglia, which states that only 10% of students do so. Hence, it should be an integral part of the education program. In the light of thoughts elaborated above, even though exercise may stress out scholars, I suppose that homework increases productivity as students can prevent doing the same mistakes.