Large companies use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, sports marketing is gaining popularity around the world. During such big events we see athletes, players wearing jerseys sporting big company logos or commercials advertisements between the match breaks. While it is beneficial for the companies, in my opinion I agree that it does have some drawbacks on the part of players and spectators. To embark on, big businesses provide huge funding to the events and advertising a product here work wonders for the companies. To illustrate cricket is the most popular sports in India and millions of people watch these matches religiously and when people see advertisements that are repeated in every break it prompt the product into the audience’s minds. This way, advertisers earn a lot of sales from such promotions. Also, we already see that the Indian cricket team’s costume and equipment is heavily laden with labels of various companies. On the other hand, many times the cricketers are asked to promote a brand by thanking the brand in the interviews they give. Athletes that are brand ambassadors to certain brands have a great pressure to keep their image at their best in media and public. Companies pay huge sums of money to players for their endorsements, and this can tempt the players into earning more money in this manner rather than playing. All these things eventually distract a player from his focus towards the game or sport he is supposed to represent. To sum up, advertising in sports events is appropriate only if it is limited. Excessive promotions take the whole essence of sports and gaming out of the event.