People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

For ages, cinema and TV have been a prodigious source of entertainment. Many experts debate that whether watching these alone at home is advantageous or not. Personally, I am not in favour of the aforementioned trend prevailing in society these days and the following expository paragraphs will expatiate my point of view with lucid examples. To begin with, the major advantage that many people see is convenience. These days most of the tv shows are in the category of adult content because of which individuals feel comfortable while watching alone. For example, most of the series releasing on online platforms are now designated as adults and parents cannot watch them with their kids. Therefore, It seems beneficial to enjoy these series solely with complete peace of mind rather than being ashamed of the scenes in front of others. On the other hand, one of the discernible disadvantages of watching tv alone is that people get entrenched in it and eventually, lose their social connections. They tend to become reticent and gets trapped in their own ivory tower. As a result, their personality growth is decimated and, sometimes, they even refrain from sharing their problems with their family or friends. It can be exemplified by the recent incident where a teenager used to spend long hours watching movies alone, and thereby, developed suicidal tendencies. Consistent with the same line of thinking is that it can have a deterrent effect on students as they tend to lose their emotional connection with family and always try to live in isolation. The nuclear family is a result of this kind of thinking. Such cases are ever-present and are treacherous. In conclusion, despite the fact that the content of shows has changed substantially, it is imperative to watch them with a group to enjoy and make a stronger bond with friends. I reckon that disadvantages have more severe repercussions than advantages and one should socialise with people while relishing these sources of entertainment.