More and more plastic is polluting cities, countryside and oceans in the world. What are the problems caused by plastic wastes? What measures should be taken to solve it?

In recent years, there has been a marked increase in the production and consumption of plastic, giving rise to environmental problems. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with plastic wastes and propose some possible solutions to avoid them. Using plastic products leads to detrimental consequences for the environment. The first problem is the contamination of soil and water. After being used, plastic products deadly waste in landfills and the ocean, which is unable to decompose in a short time. Second, the overuse of plastic disturbs the ecological balance. Because the floating plastic bags bear a strong resemblance to jelly fish, water animals unfortunately can not distinguish and eat thousands of tonnes of plastic per year. Some of them are in the red book, vulnerable to extinction. In a bid to cure the environment, visionary leaders should consider taking appropriate actions. First, authorities should encourage people to use environmentally friendly products. By using leaves or paper bags instead of plastic bags we can reduce a considerable amount of plastic waste every year. Another step to deter people from consuming plastic products is to introduce laws on plastic consumption. The stricter punishment is, the less people use plastic products. In conclusion, non-biodegradable waste causes great damage to the environment. Soil and water pollution and ecological imbalance are the results of increased use of plastic products. However, upon the enforcement of laws and the promotion of environmentally friendly products, we can mitigate the damage.