Sending spacecraft and astronauts into space is very expensive. It would be better for governments to use the money spent on space exploration to improve the quality of life on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

What lies beyond our earthly realm has fascinated humanity for millennia. Ancient civilisations quite likely knew at least as much or in some cases even more about the movements of the planets and stars than we do nowadays even with our advanced technology and science. They learned about the night sky, the seasons, eclipses, equinoxes, and solstices by diligent observation over many years and decades, so the space programmes currently in existence seem somewhat unnecessary to me. This essay will explain my thoughts about funding for spacecraft, astronauts and space travel versus using the money for improving life here on this marvellous terra firma. The current time on our beautiful blue planet is in some aspects the most challenging humanity has ever faced. The dark ages might have taxed people in other ways but with, for example, the current climate crisis, the global pandemic, and countless struggles on the political, ecological, and economical level I would think it is obvious that we have enough problems to face and solve right here on our very earthly doorstep. The space programmes have allowed us glimpses into the Universe no human being has ever had before and some of the space telescopes have clearly sent the most astounding and beautiful pictures back to Earth but on the other hand, countless rocket starts have failed, resulting in the partial or complete destruction of multi-million dollar spacecraft and sometimes even the loss of lives. Scientists have known for a very long time that the rainforests act as the lungs of the planet, producing massive amounts of much-needed oxygen, on which we all depend. The oceans contain some of the most important ecosystems; not just for the species that dwell in the watery and largely unexplored depths but for the whole planet, including us as human beings, however hardly any money gets invested into a more extensive exploration of the deep sea. We are here on Earth - facing tragedies such as famine, war, destruction of wildlife habitats for industrial advancement, massive extinction of countless species and we worry about space? The air we breathe, the water we drink, the food we eat - everything gets polluted by chemicals, industry, technological 'advancements' and yet more money is invested in space travel and weaponry than in the exploration of solutions to these very real and immediate threats to our planet. For example, the recent private endeavour of a well-known billionaire to explore space-tourism cost more than 800 million dollars and a ticket for a one-hour trip will cost each guest 250.000$. If all that money went towards the protection of the amazon rainforest the whole of humanity would surely benefit hugely. To conclude, it is clear to me that neither fireworks for New Year, which blow millions of dollars into the air instead of feeding the hungry children on the globe, nor rocket launches, which have no actual benefit for most of humanity and blow billions up into space are a cause of celebration.