Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Over the recent years, solar energy as a source of power in homes is gaining popularity worldwide. A number of people are switching to solar panels for electricity because of the positive impacts on them and on the environment. In this essay, I will first be discussing the benefits of using these, then identify the drawbacks before arriving at a conclusion. An advantage would be that possessing a solar-powered household would incur fewer expenses in the long run. An example of this is recent studies in the Philippines show that the cost of electricity has been reduced by 40% by using power produced by the sun. Consequently, using these would lessen the detrimental effects to the environment of the usual sources supplied by service providers. In addition, they are actually more visually appealing compared with the tangled electricity lines outside homes, since most are located on the roofs. However, there are disadvantages with regard to solar power. The main drawback is the cost of installation. For instance, installing panels would require a large sum of money compared with other energy sources. Additionally, families from developing countries have greater priorities when it comes to expenses. Some of them could not even afford to pay for their electric bills monthly, what more for a new source. In conclusion, solar efficiency, a form of technological advancement, is being used more and more by people all over the world. This is due to the positive effects it brings in the future. Moreover, for some households, it is just an additional cost on top of their priorities.