Much of the food people eat gets transported from farms thousands of miles away. Some believe it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate food from local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Opinions are divided whether it is beneficial to primarily consume locally grown produce, as opposed to eating food coming from distant farms. From my perspective, while the consumption of native goods is a positive trend, there are also drawbacks. One the one hand, there are two primary advantages of spending regional merchandise. Perhaps the salient benefit is that levels of pollution can be mitigated. This is because the goods are locally available and it does not have to travel a huge distance which results in adding pollution. Secondly, eating domestic food enhances local economic growth. So if goods are distributed in the local market, this can increase the revenue of the local farmers which in turn leads to increasing the per capita income. For example, In India, farming contributes to more than 60% of the national revenue, people buying from the local market will only increase the turnover of the country. One of the main demerits of consuming food from the local market could result in lesser consumer choices. This is because the products from the local market limit the choices for a consumer, and he is only able to purchase products that are sold in his city. To illustrate, an individual who is well-traveled would like to buy some international products, which he would have indulged in while his travel and the lack of availability of these products in his country can disappoint him. The availability of products from across the world can be more satisfying to meet consumer needs. In conclusion, although some individuals due to their personal preferences and satisfaction would like to buy products from the international market. However, in my view, it would be more beneficial for nations to sell their products locally, which will result in benefiting the economy by an increase in revenue, and also the environment by reducing the pollution level