Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance of schooling is undeniable: it decides what kind of person we become, what kind of job we will do and what kind of life we will have/lead. Therefore, what should and should not be taught at school is/ has been a heated debate. Some people believe that schools should focus on subjects that are relevant to student’s occupation in the future, while others state that courses like sports and music should also be included in the education curriculum. Both viewpoints are supported by justifiable reasons, but I personally lean toward the latter. On the one hand, academic subjects are very crucial. It could be said that the main objective of people who attend school is to get well-paid jobs after they finish. Thus, to achieve this objective, the majority of the curriculum focus on core subjects like math, science and language. Higher education institutions and employers would highly appreciate those students whose performance is high in such subjects. Taking Vietnam as an example, most universities only focus on the results of academic courses when they enrol students in the programs. On the other hand, subjects like sports and music cannot be discounted. While they may not be directly helpful in employment, they can help candidates to have essential skills that employers need, so candidates are more employable. Nowadays, employers are more concerned about adaptability, creativity, and soft skills. These qualities are developed by playing music, participating in team sports more than joining in academic lessons. Another reason why non-academic subjects should be taught at school is that it can discover many young athletic and artistic talents. When students join the music and sports class in secondary or high school, they can learn about their potentials and have plans to develop their future careers. In conclusion, although academic subjects should be the priority at school, it is also important to teach other subjects such as music and sports.