Doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly. However, many older people do not exercise enough. What could be the reason for this? What can be done to encourage them to physical activities?

In these days and ages, health is becoming a more and more serious topic of interest. While various recommendations are given to encourage the elderly to do workouts, lots of them still do not take it into consideration. In this essay, reasons for this tendency will be analysed before giving some advice to improve active movement for older residents. To commence with, it is compelling for the proclivity of the elderly to stop doing some physical activities. First of all, for some of them, spending time with important people as families is a better choice. Instead of spending time taking up sports, they can have more family gatherings or take care of their grandparents which are extremely meaningful for older people, in particular, who often feel lonely and isolated. Thus, doing workouts is overshadowed and families become the top priority. Moreover, the more modern life gets, the more alternative ways of entertainment the elderly have. Thanks to the boom of technology, more and more devices were created serving the chilling demands of older residents. For instance, a plethora of networks as Youtube or Facebook can be used and played right at home while going out to play sports can be really unsafe and polluted, especially in this pandemic period. Therefore, these sources are becoming all the rage and replace physical actions. In order to deal with the lack of active exercise, some suggestions are given for elderly dwellers. Firstly, providing a better environment for doing sporty activities is the optimal way for encouragement. Given that older settlers need special demands for their health, a place with fresh, clean air and fully-equipped gear is favourable for them and may attract them for taking up exercises. For example, the officials can build more parks surrounded by trees and provide more top-notch infrastructure there which can be totally attractive and interesting for old inhabitants to come. Secondly, a more sporty environment should be created so that the elderly can be encouraged for physical activities. More clubs and events related to sports can interest not only boost healthier lifestyles but also be a great way for old people to make friends and widen the circle of relationships. Thereby, their life will be much more interesting and meaningful. In conclusion, taking care of health for citizens is not only the responsibility of the government but also individuals. So both of them need a joint effort to create a much better sporty environment, serving a healthier and happier society.