The best way to protect the environment is to use local resource, such as food or building materials rather than transporting resources from other places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that the safest means to keep the environment safe is by using commodities produced within instead of transporting goods and services from one place to the other. In this essay will I fully agree with this measure. The consumption of locally produced goods has many advantages and is stressless compared with transporting resources from place to place. Also, consuming locally produced goods and services helps in recycling wastes in the community. A hygienic environment is very suitable for inhabitation. This is because the inhabitants will ensure that their surroundings are deprived of hazardous materials. For instance consumption of local produce go a long way in ensuring that nations the best and utilizes everything around them. In the ancient days when transportation was poor, the public was only able to consume what they produced. This was either because of the distance or language barriers. With current trading and transportations, some countries dump goods they no longer need. Whereas the nations who need them do not see this as hazardous until a much later time when there is an outbreak of disease. Therefore consuming local goods will prevent the dumping of unwanted goods in the community where a safe environment would have been suitable for the people in the locality. Another reason in support of the use of locally produced commodities is that some of these are very rich and the quest for money will make local producers sell the best and depend on the not so good ones. For example, fishermen do not feed on the best catches. They will rather dwell on those which are not okay for the market to make money. No wonder why children of fishermen look malnourished compared to children of non-fishermen. Where there is no transportation from place to place, those in the locality will enjoy the items manufactured within. Libya once practised it. They extract their crude oil, refine it and use it. Yet they rank among one of the richest countries in Africa. Where locals depend on what they produced, they thrive well in them and their originality cannot be compared with another. This is very rampant in communist countries like North Korea, Russia and China. Therefore, to be a wealthy person, one must depend on materials sourced from around the environment. conclusively, utilizing local resources is helpful in not only providing a safe environment but also in providing healthy foods to the people as well as improve selfsustainence. I truly agree with this.