In the world today, it is private companies rather than governments who pay for and carry out scientific research. Do the advantages outweigh any disadvantages?

Research and development in the science and technology sectors are vital to the modern environment and no longer predominantly takes place in the public sector. Privately owned corporations are indeed at the heart of today’s scientific innovation and scientific endeavours. This essay will present the case that there are more advantages than disadvantages to this phenomenon. To begin, law officials are elected by the populations they represent. Many times, the most popular person is chosen rather than the most competent one. For example, famous actors such as Ronald Regan and Arnold Schwarzenegger have become politicians and are more known for their Hollywood acting roles rather than their intellectual prowess. Furthermore, political workers often occupy day jobs. This means that once the workday is over, they may not be concerned with any happenings of the day because they lack the passion for progress in a specific discipline with which they are not familiar. The next paragraph will argue that private professionals, enthusiasts, and entrepreneurs are better suited for performance in the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics fields. Professionals with an innate passion do not let the limited hours that comprise a workday dictate when they can task on their craft and are much less likely to give up on their goals. Imagine if Elon Musk, or Albert Einstein, had to abide by a strict 8-hour-per-day schedule, they probably would not have accomplished such great feats. Moreover, research suggests that entrepreneurs and social influencers often struggle 70 to 80 hours per week. This allows them plenty of time to experiment and test new ideas. Lastly, rich private companies do not have to deal with such limited budgets as the authority does. As a result, they can spend more time and money on researching and recruiting the most appropriate talents. In conclusion, although some ministry agencies such as NASA do engage in scientific research, it becomes crystal clear that the private sector is better equipped for working in this aspect. Private companies can devote more time, money, and manpower to a goal and generally have to deal with less “red tape”. Perhaps in the future, the private and public sectors will effort together effectively.