“Some people believe that people have the right to university education, and the government should make it free no matter what their financial background. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

University education has become a necessity in the world today and is key for most people to grow and succeed. Many people may argue that there should be a universal right to free education. Even though I believe that this may suit many people, I believe that it is not the most practical decision to implement for the government. I believe that it is not the most practical as governments may have bigger issues to deal with. Having to invest and support education for everyone will result in a higher opportunity cost for the government and put a strain on the system. Many undeveloped regions such as Haiti would not be able to afford this policy. Their focus is on providing basic necessities and building better infrastructure for the safety and development of their people. On the other hand, a university education is something that can make or break an individual's life. I believe free education encourages parents to send their children to higher levels of education. This is important as in less economically developed countries, this gives women a chance to change their lives and move away from any prejudice. Also, everyone around the world would have a more equal chance to succeed and grow, despite their financial status. By having access to university education, individuals can have the opportunity to live better lives, have better jobs and incomes and escape the vicious cycle of poverty, as they are able to support themselves and their families and can also benefit from a higher standard of living. To conclude, although many people may see university education as a right, it causes immense pressure on the government and is not the most practical decision to implement for economies.