In the future all cars, busses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, the technology boom has led to a plethora of cutting-edge devices and services in the community. One of them is the debut of driverless transportations. Many people claim that in the near future, all vehicles should be driverless and the only people commuting inside will be passengers. From my perspective, I believe that the benefits of this status can not possibly eclipse its drawbacks. On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are some beneficial aspects of driverless vehicles. With the existence of these transportations, disabled or elderly people can gain a greater sense of independence as they can commute on their own instead of relying on others. Not only does this facilitate their lives a lot but, it also allows them to think more positively since they are no longer a burden for their beloved people. Additionally, the punctuality of artificial intelligence is reliable and under no circumstances, will they not arrive on time. As a result, people can keep track of their daily schedules without worrying about being late due to traffic failures. Eventually, their productivity at workplaces is enhanced, resulting in better performance. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that there are more downsides than benefits of driverless vehicles. Very few people are capable of fixing technological machines and gears, especially big and sophisticated devices like engines. Thus, people ’s lives will be under great threat if there are any errors during their journey on transportation. For instance, if the automatic system on a bus suddenly collapses, it could run continuously without paying attention to the safety of the passengers that it carries as well as people on the street, which puts all of them at extremely hazardous risks. Another disadvantage of driverless cars is that it makes unemployment more serious as drivers, which make up a high proportion of the population, will be fired and have no jobs. This puts a strain on the national budget and the government as they have to pay for unemployment insurances, affecting the growth of the economy and society. In conclusion, it is clear that driverless transportation has both advantageous and adverse impacts on human’s lives. Nevertheless, I am convinced that the benefits of this can not surpass its disadvantages.