Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To wat extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is argued that smacking children is the best form of discipline. This essay will shed light on the positive and negative aspects. Firstly, I don't think smacking children is really good, it is always better to talk with them and try to make them understand the situation and what is wrong. Sometime is hard, specially when they don't listen and don't recognise your authority but talking is only way to make them really understand and grow up. For example when I was kid, I always have been a little rebel and my family used to smack me often to try to avoid me to make troubles. I never changed my attitude because of that but just trying on my self the consequences of my wrong actions. On the other hand, it is also true that not always is possibile talk and make the children understand in a easly way. In fact in quality of dad i can admit that sometime I smack my baby. He is almost two years old and it is very difficult for me explain to him what he cans do and what not and why. For example he used to go to toch the power cords and obviusly it was very dangerous, so to make him understand to not do it I sadly had to smack him. In this way he associeted the pain to that type of action and now he has quitten quieten quitting. To sum up, probably smacking children should be the last option always and just when there are not possibility of comunication.