A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness, and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people think that values such as honour and kindness have become unimportant and the only important thing is the amount of wealth that an individual has. I strongly disagree with this statement because in today’s world community still use values to judge a human. To begin with, if an individual does not distribute his wealth he will be considered a selfish person in society. No doubt that respect towards richer people has increased in recent times, so the more money you have the more respect you will earn. In contrast, if richer people do not serve society and do not take part in helping the poor population with their treasure, they will not be considered responsible folk. For example, Bill Gates is one of the most respected persons in the world but that is not because of his wealth. Rather he earned this fame due to community service. Furthermore, famous personalities often work with non-profit organizations to collect charity for the poor public in society. They use their fame to influence the crowd to gather support and by doing this they earn a lot of respect in the community. For example, Imran Khan, before becoming prime minister of Pakistan, used to collect charity for his cancer hospital. Pakistanis were responding to his call and he was able to collect billions of funds which were used to provide free treatment to cancer patients. These celebrities are well recognized because of their kind acts and not because of their money. To sum up, I firmly believe that money will certainly increase the social standing of a person, but old factors are also important to earn the true love and admiration of fellow citizens. Rich folk have to show generosity and kindness to become more famous.