Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society: To what extent do you agree?

Owing to the fact that, technology has a tremendous impact on human life, information technology including social media is extremely popular among people. However, it has had been argued that social networking sites, for example, Facebook creates a negative impact on people as well as the community. I am partially agreed with this notion because it has pros and cons such as, it is helpful in connecting people and making their lives better but, spreading fake news is its biggest disadvantage. This essay will elaborate on this topic in the upcoming paragraphs. On one hand, it has been proven immensely beneficial for individuals and society by means of assisting in creating, developing and maintaining human relations. One can find a job on Facebook, people can reconnect with their old friends and family members who are living abroad, in addition, that they can share their photos as well as videos with their loved ones. For example, in my neighbourhood, Mrs Avasthi spends every evening with her grandson, who is staying in London. She chitchats, laugh aloud. Moreover, she also plays video games with him and by means of this, she successfully overcomes her loneliness and stays glad for the upcoming days as well. This proves the incredible importance of social media. On the other hand, the spread of rumours likes, politically motivated news, fake content and unethical videos, pictures that have been posted on Facebook by some criminally minded people have had a negative impact on the entire community. As the news and contents posted on social media are never screened by any government authority, it is widely used to promote political parties as well as to spread fake news. According to the article, published by The Times of India, there was a dramatic shift of political influence in 2015, and the party who won the election gave entire credit to Facebook as they could able to reach a maximum number of people because of it. Thus one can clearly see that manipulating people for one benefit is happening because of Facebook only. In conclusion, it is absolutely true that social media has an improbably great impact on people by means of enhancing their connections, whereas it also has a remarkably bad effect on society and individuals as it makes them being used and driven.