In many countries, more and more people choose to buy imported food rather than food produced locally. Why people buy imported food? What could be done to encourage people to buy local food?

In recent years, big corporations have expanded their productions outside the borders of their countries. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons why companies that are conducted multinationally should be responsible for local communities. From the social perspective, this brings these companies tangible benefits. Firstly, skilled and educated workers are very concerned about their working conditions, wages, and perks following a job. Businesses that have starvation wages, child labor, and harsh working environments cannot attract potential employees. Secondly, if companies allocate their resources to improve the life quality of local citizens, this will enhance their public image. For example, they should have philanthropy activities that help those who are less fortunate. This not only contributes to attract more effective workers but also raises their sales figures. From the environmental perspective, large companies have caused many serious environmental issues. The most important thing that needs to be tackled is that the pollution stemming from the irresponsible discharge of chemical wastes into the river, emissions of polluted air. For instance, this leads to resultant soil degradation and exerts negative impacts on local citizens. Moreover, some companies have caused oil spills that drive many animals on the verge of extinction and impact the local fishing industry. Another reason is that over-exploitations of natural resources caused by multination corporators cause the depletion of energy resources. Thus, these companies should invest more corporate money in researching renewable resources of energy and using them in their production chains. In conclusion, multinational corporations should allocate their resources to enhance the quality of life in areas where they do their businesses. It is a moral duty and self-interest of a company.