Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, an increasing number of parents are allowing their offspring to choose their daily matters, such as food, entertainment and clothes, based on their own desire. Numerous people claim that this trend will have a negative impact on the community as it makes people neglect the opinion of others, while many people argue that this is beneficial for children’s development. In this essay, I will discuss both views above before drawing the conclusion why I lean toward the latter. On one hand, it is true that youngsters can grow up being selfish if they can decide everything in their lives. They will get used to being the one who makes choices and if they can not do so, they will be extremely furious, which leads to misbehaviour. For instance, overindulged children, whose parents fulfil all their wishes unconditionally, tend to be more egocentric in comparison to those who do not. Consequently, they become grown-ups who do not have the perspective of respecting other opinions apart from that of their own. On the other hand, I am more convinced that it is essential for parents to let their children decide on various situations in their daily life as it is advantageous for them. By doing so, youngsters have the opportunity to develop a sense of independence from a very young age, which not only facilitates their lives but also their parents’ lives. For example, a toddler can learn to put on clothes on their own, provided that it is what he wants, which saves a huge amount of time for adults. Additionally, allowing youngsters to make choices nurtures and develops decision-making skills and critical thinking, as they have to take into account all the benefits and drawbacks before choosing an option. As a result, they can make use of those skills later in their lives, such as at the workplace or in school, which enables them to possess optimal performance. In conclusion, it is undeniable that allowing children to be the decision-maker might result in their misbehaviour in the future. Nonetheless, I am of the idea that making choices plays an active role in the overall development of the youngsters and has several beneficial aspects in their lives.