Some celebrations have lost their meaning and these occasions have become too much about spending money. What problems can this cause? What can be done to change the situation?

In recent years, there has been an evolution in society in the form of becoming materialistic and money-minded. An enormous number of events are observed by the people all year round. Anyway, with time, the festivities are being carried out in a bogus manner besides ignoring the core values behind it. Consequently, various nasty issues have arisen. This essay discusses those drawbacks and further suggests some alternatives to resolve the complications. To begin with, earlier a simple marriage ceremony was carried out on a reasonable budget and the invitations were sent to the close relatives and friends of the couple. However, with the advent of time, the trend of the big fat wedding came and fashion and was followed by a majority of the community. As a result, a considerable number of families have fallen into huge debts. Furthermore, on several other occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries or festivals, the individuals cherish the gifts more than the customs or traditions. The essence of occasions is being forgotten by humans. To deal with the above-mentioned shortcomings, amendments in the method of celebrations should be undertaken. The rationale of the function being held should be discussed so that the fellows are aware of the grounds and history of it. Moreover, rather than feeling ashamed in following rituals, the tribe should proudly give regard to them and take it forward for their future generations. In my opinion, the crux of social gatherings should be maintained and the significance of these occasions should be explained to the folks so that they appreciate the purpose involved. Additionally, the traits of materialism should be overpowered and discouragement of bragging ought to be done. To conclude, treasuring the real worth of the occasions is important. Celebrating in an unpretentious and modest way will not only be satiating but would help in the conservation of resources as well.