In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Youngsters are increasingly encouraged to take some time off after high school for travelling or doing some kind of job. While this has clear advantages, there are some disadvantages too. This essay will demonstrate that availing a year off, after pursuing a high school education, not only enriches the student’s experience of different cultures, but also provides the opportunity to arrange fees for university studies. However, it could also distract them to a stage to whether pursue further education or not. First of all, by taking a temporary break from school studies, youngsters get the opportunity to explore the world by travelling. Further, this seems to be a nice relaxing strategy before devoting full-time commitment towards tertiary education. Also, for other pupils, gaining work experience in some industries could be beneficial. By doing so, they will be able to accommodate necessary funds for their future training. It is estimated that on average, teenagers need $24000 as annual fees for their higher education. This could be a serious limitation for some students, as a result, they lose the ability to join advanced courses. Therefore, this impediment can be overcome by motivating them to get some kind of employment and arrange money. However, it is commonly observed that students tend to easily lose focus and they do not want to continue their education when given the chance of taking a gap. In my own case, my cousin was not able to continue his medical studies after availing of a year break. To sum up, whereas, a year off of regular education offers refreshment and enhance the chance of doing further education.But losing focus can also have detrimental effects on the continuing education of high school graduates.