Some feel that schools should be mixed with both girls and boys attending while others feel the genders ought to be separated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Our society is divided on the issue of co-education. While it offers a lot of benefits, it has some nerve-pressing side-effects too. In the present essay, I will illustrate some of the positives and negatives of mixed-gender education, and also present my opinion regarding the burning issue. First of all, boys and girls, who receive education together in the same institutions, tend to have mutual respect for each other. As they grow together, they develop an understanding of the physical and emotional needs of each other. Further, “mixed-sex education” helps in the character development of pupils especially teenagers. It is commonly observed that both genders tend to behave nicely in front of an opposite-sex teenager, thus, helps in character building. Another crucial advantage of co-education is that it helps in the better management of resources. As, same teachers, educational buildings and other resources can be employed for the teaching-learning process. However, the opponents believe that this system of teaching should be discouraged. One reason could be attributed to distraction, as normally it can be seen youngsters gets easily distracted in presence of the opposite sex. Another reason is that there is the possibility of unethical activities in different institutions. Some case studies suggest that sometimes conflicts among teenagers could lead to aggression and therefore, could lead to some bad consequences. In my opinion, owing to the benefits of co-education, it is imperative to offer mixed-gender education to our future generations. However, those who have some fears about it, can exercise some level of control over their children and scrutinize their day-to-day activities.