Many people say that they believe it is important to protect the environment but make no effort to do anything about it themselves. Why do you think this is the case? What action do you think individuals should take to protect the environment?

It is true that an increasing number of people are aware that environmental protection is essential to all people ’s well-being but they have nothing to do with this aspect. In my opinion, depending on high-tech facilities should be blamed for this and there are several actions that people can do for environmental protection. The reason why most people do not work to protect the environment is that the conveniences brought by the high-tech are so attractive to people. For example, the excessive use of private cars in first -tier cities has led to an increase in the amount of carbon dioxide and other harmful fumes emitted into the atmosphere. Furthermore, the increasing demand for high-end products will cause direct damage to the environment. For instance,the geologic framework is destroyed and the forest has been cut down since people exploit crude oil from the earth. In, conclusion,Obsessing over this high-tech equipment is the true reason why people realised environmental problems but do nothing to solve it. Undoubtedly, everyone has an obligation to preserve the environment and there are tons of actions they can take. For instance, when a person sees a plastic bag flying in the air or wrapping papers lying on the ground, he or she can pick them up and put them in the nearby trash cans. Besides, people can lead an environmentally-friendly lifestyle by flying less, and cycling more or using more public transport instead. More importantly, they can choose to vote for the politicians who advocate conserving the environment, rather than those who ignore it. In conclusion, even though it is hard for people to alter the modern lifestyle, concerning the side effects of all those high technologies, we still need to take action to tackle the environmental issues.