People can eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people can eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

We are eyewitnesses to the increasing variety of exotic food in our lives as a result of globalisation. Moreover, it is common for people in some countries to have a higher proportion of foreign meals than domestic ones.From my perspective, although some people can benefit from this scenario, the disadvantages are dominant. There is no denying that surging demand for foreign cuisine raises the revenue of international companies involved in the food industry. Furthermore, with additional income, it may encourage food producers to set up factories or promote the establishment of new restaurants in other countries, which may raise employment in the host country. However, it is also true that some dishes symbolises more dominant cultures compared to domestic ones.So they are regarded as more valuable and have greater general acceptability, resulting in people paying less attention to local cuisine. With reduced popularity, the revenue of local food sellers who focus on the traditional cuisine of the home countries may plunge and be driven out of the business eventually. Therefore, it deteriorates the preservation of local culture as food is a significant part of national identity. In addition, some of the ingredients of foreign dishes may need to be imported over long distances owing to the strict restriction on the production process such as location and weather, which reduces the freshness and quality of the final product. Besides, in such cases, the whole transportation process may not be under full supervision due to the length of the route.So there are high chances that those ingredients carry hazardous pathogens and spread epidemic diseases, especially for the time being. To sum up, although this trend may bring economic growth or raise employment, it can work out to be the exact opposite for the domestic food industry and spread diseases.