Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of longer living for individuals and society?

With a wide range of medical facilities available these days, surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. This has several implications for individuals as well as society. This essay discusses the possible effects of a longer survival rate for individuals and society. Firstly, aged people may have several health issues developed through their lifetime. For example, people can suffer from common diseases like increased blood pressure or diabetes. Such people need to be on continuous medication and require frequent doctor visits. Their standard of life constantly decreases as they develop in their age. Furthermore, they are always dependent on other people for their well-being. There needs to be constant support from others to the old people. Secondly, there are certain effects on society as well due to increased life expectancy. It is the government's responsibility to take care of the elder citizens of the nation. The government need to provide pension to these citizens as they cannot work at their age. In addition to this, the government need to build nursing homes for people who don't have a family to look after them. This is an increased surplus on the government’s budget. For instance, few countries provide additional discounts on several services to aged people. In conclusion, increased life expectancy has several effects on individuals as well as society. In order to develop the living standards of elderly people, governments need to take certain measures so that at this age, individuals need not worry about their well being