Some people believe unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that free volunteer work should be mandatory for high schoolers. Arguments both for and against as well as my opinion will be evaluated in this essay. The first and the main positive point is that undergraduates develop a richer perspective of the world by attending volunteer activities. For instance, seeing first -hand how animals are unfairly treated in shelters can motivate students to tackle this problem. However, every plus has its minus. It is well known that if children are forced to do something, most likely they will not be willing to do it at all. Hence, changing volunteer work to compulsory might lead to the loss of interest among teens. Another supporting point is by doing community work, teens are learning essential soft skills such as teamwork, creativity, problem-solving and many more. Furthermore, mastering these skills will enable future adults to succeed in a career or in building stable relationships. That said, these services are teaching scholars what general academic programs will not. On the other hand, some of the high schoolers are already busy with sports or clubs to do volunteer work. It might be overwhelming for undergraduates to manage a growing number of activities on their plates. To conclude, mandatory community work is a contradiction to the whole concept of “ volunteer work ”. In my opinion, every educational must have additional community services, yet make them optional. Opportunity to choose will mean that future adults are willing to do these services by themselves and moreover, do their best.