Topic: Crime rate in most countries is often higher in urban areas than rural areas. why do you think that is? what can be done to reduce crime rate?

The modernization of the world contributed to the growing needs of individuals. It has been noticed that an illegal activity rate is comparatively greater in the cities than in villages. However, the reasons behind this are various such as; 1. Competitive lifestyle 2. easy availability of narcotics. It is noteworthy to say that enormous modalities are available to control crimes in the city like, awareness, proper education and guidance and stringent rules. This essay will discuss the same in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, it has been noticed since the ages that criminal activities are increasing day by day in the larger cities and first and the foremost reason is, jealousy among the peers, in addition to that, the readily available narcotics, alcohol and various forms of drugs which spoils the youth and indulges them into a crime. People who are economically sound often dominates the poor individual resulting in insult of the person, ego problem and consequently crime happen. For instance, according to the survey conducted by The Union of the Labourers, India, in March, 2020, revealed that 59% of crimes including murder, robbery, extortion were done by household workers, to whom the employers insulted and tortured emotionally many times because of their poverty. Therefore, it can be stated that the urban areas there is a trend to keep household workers and conflicts arise between the employees and the employer every now and then leading to criminal activity. Nevertheless, there is always a solution available to whom, who seeks a better future. The government as well as the people of urban areas can collectively work on this crucial issue in order to make the city safe and peaceful. The government can implement strict rules and regulations for the use of narcotics. The people can form groups of motivators and supportive persons who can help the poor to enhance their financial conditions by creating awareness about education and employment and to abandon the illegal modalities. For example, the article published in The Hindusthan Times on 19 June, 2020 provided information that, a foundation called ' Shiksha Education Trust' formed by some enthusiastic and socially inclined individuals in Mumbai, helped 100 children for their education, who were poor and living in a slum area. The results were remarkable and admirable that, 75 of them got a decent job in the various prestigious fields such as teaching and 5 of them became doctors. Thus, addressing the problem, spreading awareness and effective help to the debilitated individuals in the society can alleviate the rate of a crime. In conclusion, I believe that there is a higher rate of illegal activities in the major cities because of the lack of education and economic differences among the people. However, the problem can be solved by providing proper guidance, education and the government's legal support.