Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since time immemorial, it has been observed that people are more likely to purchase a new thing when they see an advertisement related to that product. Consequently, there has been a growing body of opinion that the principal purpose of advertising is to sell products that individuals have no need. Being a rational mind, I, however, take issue with this notion, for I am of the view that ads help customers compare existing products of different companies and know about state-of-the-art technologies and goods. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the top-most aim of advertisements as a way of representing various aspects of products, existed already in a market. To be more precise, in order to survive in the dog-eat-dog world, companies always try to add updated features and provide promotional offers. Thus, it would be next to impossible provided to inform clienteles pertaining to new quality, price to name but a few if traders could not advertise. To cite an example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that when customers show that their daily usable products have come into the market with new features, the number of sales increase twofold. Another critical rationale in reference to why advertising is vital for the needed goods is necessarily synonymous with comparing products of different vendors. In other words, ads facilitate in evaluating goods’ price, quality by staying at home, saving valuable time for people. To exemplify, researchers around the world have found that the option of comparability of online ads increases the sales of mobile phones by 10% in 2009 because now people do not have to visit every shop. Therefore, advertisement is considered to be conducive to evaluate things easily. In conclusion, the main purpose of advertisement is to help people know about the latest features of the existing goods and compare those products of various organizations so to provide benefits to customers.