Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

Water contamination is a form of pollution and one that is challenging to rectify. It occurs when pollutant particles mixed up with the water cycle thus transferring into water streams. There are two main causes involved and a variety of damaging effects on people and marine life which will be discussed further in this essay. Firstly, the major cause of water pollution is the emission of harmful gases from vehicles, factories and other human activities. These emissions contain harmful particles which can contaminate rainwater run-off and thus enter the water cycle, by transferring through the water table into aquifers, streams and rivers. The filtration is not possible on a large scale so the water table remains tainted over long periods which is used by individuals and the biosphere. For example, due to soil erosion and logging, the local environment has been seriously damaged. Furthermore, the other major issue is the dumping of waste into open areas. Due to the increase in population and lack of landfills, the factories dump their detrimental waste into the sea and river which enter into water supplies. It causes serious issues for individuals and other species if used without processing this water. The effects on animals can be severe. Contaminated water is affecting the food chain and habitat loss in the ecosystem. This can lead to dwindling numbers or even extinction as has happened to the Asian tiger population. The impact on human life is also not deniable. The lack of drinking water due to contamination and soil irrigation could lead to situations like famine or drought. For example, the plastic elements in the water harm humans and animals adversely even causing them to die. To summarize, it is clear human activities such as emissions and dumping are the underlying reasons behind water pollution, which affects the animals as well as humans themselves. If proper measures are not taken on time, it could have serious consequences.