Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference To what extent do you agree or disagree?

a dominant concern revolves around an increasing opinion that only actions of the government and enterprises can make a difference in the environment while individuals have an impact. From my point of view, I strongly disagree with this statement because of the compelling reasons that I outline below. On the one hand, it is a fact beyond dispute that individuals have a significant impact on the environment. In terms of individual efforts, human activities can reduce the number of private vehicles, thereby minimizing emitting gases which heavily affect the air. For instance, instead of commuting by car, people are encouraged to take means of public transportation such as buses to mitigate air pollution. As a result, individuals should share responsibility for protecting the environment. On the other hand, in order to combat pollution, urgent actions need to be taken by both the government and citizens. As for the authorities, it is essential to impose a new strict law to fine on companies that pose remarkable threats to nature. Besides, the government should spread the environmental cognition towards the citizens about the importance of 3R: reduce, recycle and reuse. Moreover, each individual has to set a role model for a younger generation to follow. In fact, environmental education from an early age would develop a mindset and respectful habits in caring for the environment. For example, parents should teach their children about the use of plastic materials such as drinking straws or bottles by switching to reusable containers which would cause less harm to the environment. To conclude then, not only does one person influence the environment, the governments and large businesses also affect nature. In addition, both the individuals and authorities should take responsibility for enhancing the environment.