It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with is opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviours to children?

Some people believe that it is essential for children to recognize rightness and wrongness, and punishments are indispensable. In my opinion, good morals are crucial for children, whereas penalties are not always inevitable. Children have the capability of choosing the right road only when they know what is right. A child's education has never been about learning knowledge and skills only. They should be educated to be a good member of society, while the premise of being a good resident is to choose the white from the black. If children can not realize what is beneficial for himself, family and society when he is still young, more efforts would be devoted after he grows up. Punishment only should be taken in some extreme cases, and it should not be normality. Many Asian parents have been used to educating their children by physical punishment and never explaining the reason to their children. For instance, corporal punishments are not uncommon in my hometown, whereas youngers have not learned how to be well-behaved under this conventional educational model. However, most polite and competent children claim that they were not punished during their childhood. Therefore it is evident that punishment is not essential for most families and schools.    There are various measures parents and teachers could take to educate their children and students. First, precautions are preliminary. It means that we need to make children know the distinction between right and wrong before they make a mistake. Secondly, parents and teachers must be sure that children have realized the mistake they made. If they do not understand the reason that makes their parents get mad, punishment would be meaningless. The third option is to experience sequences by themselves, and then they would not do it again.   In conclusion, it is important for children to learn to be good members of family, campus and society. At the same time, the punishment could not be a perfect way to achieve this.