Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Discuss and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many hold the view that all youngsters should own a pet so that they can learn while they are taking care of the pet. At the same time, however, there is a body of opinion which holds that such necessity may vary because each child’s circumstances are different. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion. To begin with, children can cultivate a sense of responsibility while they are looking after the pet. A recent study at Harvard University reveals that people who need to take care of either a pet or a younger sibling in their childhood have better leadership skills than their peer group and have a significantly higher level of income. In addition, through spending time with their own pets, children can develop better time management skills as they need to spare some time to take care of the pet. Moreover, what they can learn from looking after the pet is much wider than what they can learn from the textbooks, and this can be an asset to not only their personal development but also their career development in the future. For example, children may set their goals as a vet or animal studies when they go to the university. On the other hand, not all children are suitable to have pets because some may be allergic to the animals, and this problem may lead to severe illness in children. Also, as the living space nowadays has become more and more overcrowded, particularly for the people living in the cities, it is not feasible and even inhuman to have pets. Furthermore, if people are encouraged to have pets in childhood, the growth in population will decrease, because humans may prefer to getting a pet rather than having a baby. Therefore, it will hinder economic growth and cause server social problems in the long run. To summarize, there is no doubt that children having their own pets can help develop better time management skills and a stronger sense of responsibility. At the same time, however, it brings about some issues, such as different varieties of health problems and negative impact on the economic growth for the nation in the long term. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that children are encouraged to have pets, particularly after throughout consideration and proper guidance from parents and schools but it should not be treated as mandatory.