Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

It is undeniable that the majority of fast-moving consumer goods contain high levels of sugar which result in serious health issues. Hence, some assert that making sugar -based products expensive would that making sugar -based products expensive would be an ideal solution to discourage consumption of sugar, In my point of view, an increase in price or tax would not be enough to solve this problem therefore, it is pivotal to look at many other initiatives. To begin with, would a rise in selling price provide an answer to a trending health issue? The answer would be yes to a certain extent. To put it another way, a price increase would only curb the usage of a selected segment of consumers whereas, people who could pay a higher price would still be willing to buy sugar -based food and drinks. As a result, they will be diagnosed with various health problems such as high blood pressure, obesity and diabetics. Therefore, the problem still remains in the society. What measures should be taken by the authorities? First and foremost, it is imperative to raise the awareness about the detrimental consequences of consuming unhealthy products while encouraging low carb diets and organic food. Secondly, encourage manufactures to promote food and drinks which contain low levels of sugar through an incentive scheme. For example, in Sweden, food manufactures are graded based on the types of food they produce and sell. Hence, an higher incentive is rewarded for healthy food manufactures. Finally, the general public should be motivated to live an active lifestyle on a national level just as India initiated a programme in 2019 name " my fit India" promoting healthy living through physical activities. In conclusion, making sugar -based products expensively only would not facilitate a country to have a healthy society. Owing to this, countries need to have a well-structured programme to eliminate health problems caused by sugar products.