Many of the products we buy nowadays break or wear out very quickly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for manufacturers and the public?

It is often said that items that are produced today are easily broken. This essay examines the positive consequences including affordability and profitability, as well as the negatives including overspending, environmental concerns and distrust of industry. There are several advantages for both the public and producers of lower-quality products. For instance, in Japan where 100 yen shops are prevalent, people are able to purchase more items at a lower cost from utensils to fashions. Furthermore, they can try various items of different designs and effects with more ease without having many financial concerns. As their incentives for shopping rise, manufacturers can boost their profits, which promotes them to take more active marketing strategies including inventing more novel items and increasing their advertising. In contrast, there are drawbacks to be highlighted, resulting from such a modern trend. In fact, the frustration among consumers grows dramatically when they realize that the items are not durable enough to facilitate their daily life. Moreover, they have to replace them frequently, which increases their spending. In addition, there is an escalating concern for environmental damage with increasing waste being created by consumers buying more fragile merchandise made of plastic and nylon. These factors lead to a rising sense of distrust of the public users toward the companies. Consequently, the industries will face detrimental impacts as they need to deal with a number of complaints, which makes it hard for them to manage and expand their business. In conclusion, the consumers are more easily able to afford the breakable products in contemporary markets and their increasing habit of shopping for them will make the business more lucrative for the companies. However, it leads to their increasing expenditure and poses serious effects on nature, which makes them more suspicious of the manufacturers.